You are here
Home > Awards > OYO Founder & CEO Ritesh Agarwal felicitated for pioneering work in India’s hospitality sector

OYO Founder & CEO Ritesh Agarwal felicitated for pioneering work in India’s hospitality sector


Ritesh Agarwal, Founder & CEO of OYO, India’s largest hotel-network, was recently honored with two prestigious awards – Gaurav Samman at Pravasi Haryana Divas and New-age Entrepreneur Award by Asian Centre For Corporate Governance & Sustainability. The award comes in recognition of his contribution towards transforming India’s budget hospitality sector.

Ritesh Agarwal, Founder & CEO – OYO, said, “While I am honoured to receive this recognition, I credit OYO’s success to our passionate and tremendously hard-working team. We feel humbled and grateful that our efforts and impact on the hospitality and travel industry have been acknowledged. These awards serve as inspiration, motivating us to work harder, think creatively, and keep innovating.”

Ritesh was recognized for Haryana Gaurav Samman at the first Pravasi Haryana Divas, held in Gurgaon. Haryana Gaurav Samman has been instituted by the Haryana government to honour successful artistes, individuals and business leaders whose families are originally from Haryana. The award was presented by Chief Minister Manohar Lal, Union Minister of State for External Affairs Gen V K Singh (Retd) and Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment Krishan Pal.

Other eminent personalities awarded at the Asian Centre For Corporate Governance & Sustainability platform are Vishal Sikka, Vikram Mehta, Chanda Kochhar, N.Vaghul and others. While Pravasi Haryana Divas honoured Kalpana Chawla, Sonu Nigam former Fiji Prime Minister Mahendra Pal Chaudhry, Essel Group of Companies Chairman Subhash Chandra and others.

For his contribution in disrupting the hospitality sector to deliver standardized and affordable stay experience to travellers, Ritesh was awarded the New Age Entrepreneur Award 2016 at the Leadership, Governance, and Sustainability & CSR Awards held in Mumbai. The awards, presented by Lady Lynn Forrester de Rothschild, Chairman and Co-Founder of Coalition for Inclusive Capitalism, UK and Mr. Richard Howitt – CEO, International Integrated Reporting Council, UK and former Member of European Parliament, are aimed at raising the quality of corporate governance and sustainable development and to recognize the companies and industry leaders doing exemplary work. Other leaders honoured at this event include Vishal Sikka, CEO & MD – Infosys, Chanda Kochhar, CEO – ICICI BANK, Sanjiv Bajaj from BAJAJ Group and Punita Kumar Sinha, Founder – Pacific Paradigm Advisors.

OYO’s vision is to enable quality living spaces at the right location and price-point by standardizing and building efficiency into all forms of real estate using technology and innovation.

Leave a Reply