Latest News Advertising, Brand, Television, Radio, Digital-Marketing

Type to search


Racing Team India stands fifth in ALMS championship & continues chasing

Shreoshree Chakrabarty February 22, 2021

While the first all-Indian team to compete on the international endurance racing stage, Racing Team India, continues to make progress towards its Le Mans dream; it ended its first Asian Le Mans Series campaign fifth in the overall championship standings.

The final two races of the season at Abu Dhabi’s Yas Marina track were finished to a pair of fifth place by Naveen Rao, Narain Karthikeyan and Arjun Maini in their ORECA 07 LMP2 car.

In the two season-opening races in Dubai, the results came on the back of the fifth and fourth-placed finished by the team.

Racing Team India had gone into the Abu Dhabi season-ender hoping to build on its Dubai showing, baked by JK Tyres and with technical support from reigning Asian Le Mans champions Algarve Pro Racing.

The #64 challenger’s chances of maximising the potential were hindered by the unfortunate racing incidents.

However, plenty of positives were offered by the team’s first season of competition.

The outfit showed it has the speed to fight at the front with its Indian tri-colour, faced with a steep learning curve, liveried car leading the second Dubai race at one stage.

Showing all their racing experience, former F1 racer Karthikeyan and European Le Mans veteran Maini were blisteringly quick.

Making big strides forward and unlocking a new level of performance from Dubai to Abu Dhabi was 2020 IMSA Prototype Challenge Champion Naveen Rao, the team’s bronze-rated driver.

Organisers were extremely supportive of the team’s effort and goals and welcomed Racing Team India into the series with open arms and Racing Team India is grateful to the Asian Le Mans Series and the ACO.

To become the first team flying the Indian tri-colour to race at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the team will now continue to pursue its dream.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − eight =