Latest News Advertising, Brand, Television, Radio, Digital-Marketing

Type to search


MY Parliament to conduct Model Youth Parliament on 12th- 13th March

MediaInfoline March 11, 2016

It has been over 24 years since the concept of Participatory Budgeting first originated but its appeal in India has been limited. Only a few cities in India namely Bengaluru, Mysore and Pune have experimented with participatory budgeting. The 74th Constitutional Amendment directs state governments and urban local bodies to form ward committees, to prepare the ward-level budgets in consultation with localities. But these initiatives have not been implemented, with the result being very few channels for citizens to participate in local governance.

MY Parliament Budget Session 2016 is an attempt to provide a platform for citizens to decide for their money. Through two days mock parliamentary sessions, MY Parliament attempts to bring in young voices to participate and debate over the Budget 2016-17.

The 2 day session, which will be held on 12th and 13th March, 2016, will see more than 200 young participants from 24 states in India, from a variety of disciplines like Engineering, Architecture, Sciences, Public Administration, Medicine, Management, Law, Humanities, Economics and others.

This is the first-of-its-kind initiative which will bring such a huge number of the country’s youth, from all parts of the country and varied backgrounds, under one roof with one common objective – to discuss and debate the recently announced Budget 2016.

The 2 days culminate with a 60 minute panel discussion, where we look forward to understand the future of budget making process in India. The whole deliberation will provide an insight to the challenges and issues faced to make the whole procedure more participative.

The panel will see some eminent personalities discussing, debating and answering questions on the topic – ‘Future of Participatory Budgeting in India: Issues and Challenges’. Following will be participating in the discussion –


Jayant Sinha is the Minister of State for Finance, a Member of Indian Parliament and formerly an investment fund manager and management consultant. In May 2014, he was elected to the Lok Sabha from Hazaribagh, Jharkhand. He has served as a member of – the Public Accounts Committee and the Standing Committee on Finance


Meenakshi Lekhi

Mrs. Meenakshi Lekhi is a Lok Sabha Member from New Delhi Constituency. She is a BJP National Spokeswoman and Supreme Court lawyer. She has also been member of the drafting committee of “Women Reservation Bill” & “Problem of Sexual Harassment at Workplace”.

Prof. Rajeev Gowda

Prof Rajeev Gowda is a Rajya Sabha from Karnataka. After doing his post-doctoral research at the University of California, Berkeley he returned to India in 2000. Since then, he has been active in politics. In 2013, Prof. Gowda was appointed AICC National Spokesperson.

Praveen Chakravarty

Mr. Chakravarty is a member of the Primary Markets committee of the Securities & Exchange Board of India, an independent advisor to the Bombay Stock Exchange, independent Director of TVS Electronics and advisor to TVS Capital. He also co-founded Mumbai Angels, India’s largest angel investing group. Chakravarty worked with the Unique Identity Authority of India (UIDAI) and helped develop a “constituency model” of skill training for the National Skills Development Agency (NSDA).

M R Madhavan

Madhavan co-founded PRS and is currently its President. Prior to starting PRS, he was based in Singapore covering currency and interest rate markets as Principal and Senior Strategist for the Asia region for Bank of America.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one + 16 =